The Write Side of Life: Happy New Year and I’m Baccckkk!!!

Some of you may remember that back in early 2014, I re-launched this blog and also launched my attempt at an on-line novel, Isis. If you follow me on twitter or are friends with me on Facebook, you probably remember me spamming up the airwaves with this stuff. In March I then decided to take a break from writing the on-line novel for reasons such as work, wedding planning and writing for a couple of competitions taking priority of my time. There is a more detailed reasoning in an earlier blog.

 

I fully intended to come back and carry on Isis. In fact, in the time between then and now, I have written several more chapters. It has always been my intention to finish it, and I will. Unfortunately for those of you who were following it (I know that wasn’t many but thank you all the same), and also for myself, it seems that Isis is on indefinite hold. Let me try to explain why.

 

In-between last March and your reading of this, a few things have happened in the world, and in my life. The first would be that I got married. Planning a wedding, getting married, enjoying the party, enjoying the honeymoon and last but by no means least, enjoying being married takes up a lot of time; time that I wouldn’t have been able to enjoy as much if I was feeling the pressure of having to make sure that I stuck to my, albeit self-imposed, deadlines. Also, in that time, I have ideas for other stories and other writing projects have reared their heads and I am very easily distracted.

 

Another thing that has happened to me personally in this time is, almost as a bi-product of working on Isis, that I have become more determined than ever to write a book for print publication. As with pretty much all aspiring authors, it is my lifelong dream to get an agent and get published. With that in mind, I have been handing most of my writing time to that particular project and aiming for 2015 to be the year that I least get a manuscript submitted.

 

As for what happened in the world, well unless you live under a rock, you’ll know all about the terrorist organisation called, dahn-dahn- daaannnnn, Isis. That’s right folks as I was writing about a terrorist attack by clones from a planet called (that’s right, you guessed it) Isis, a terrorist group called Isis were carrying out horrific attacks in the name of religion. As my story sees many of the attackers from Isis using the ‘R’ word, I felt there were just far too many parallels being drawn that I felt way to uncomfortable. So until the situation with IS is sorted, or I can figure out a way to change the story but remain true to my original idea, I feel it is best to draw a line under it for the meantime.

 

As I’ve said above however, that doesn’t mean I’m not writing and as we are in the new year, I felt this site needed a ‘re-re-launch’ and this is what this is. Part of my writerly New Year resolutions is to heavily build up this site into something of meaning and quality. So, in the coming year expect lots of short stories, writing tips and advice and hopefully an invite to read my debut novel (fingers crossed).

 

Whilst on the subject, if you have any New Year resolutions to do with writing, I’d love hear them.

 

Thanks for reading,

 

Tim.

Leave a Reply

